CPUT’s Virtual Open Day is now open! Click here to visit >>>

Wednesday, 14 April 2021

Know your CPUT: District 6 and satellite campuses

SCENIC: The District Six Campus commands exciting views of the harbour and the Table Mountain. SCENIC: The District Six Campus commands exciting views of the harbour and the Table Mountain.

Resting on the historic slopes of District Six, the former Cape Town Campus was renamed to the District Six (D6) Campus and is located close to the city’s most notable landmark, the Table Mountain. 

The campus is home to the Faculty of Business and Management, the largest faculty at CPUT, and the Faculty of Informatics and Design. Various courses from the Faculties of Applied Sciences a well as Health and Wellness Sciences are also offered here.

The campus boasts state-of-the-art academic facilities such as a library, computer labs and a branch of the Disability Unit. A stone's throw away from the campus is the Centre for E-Learning.

Student gatherings and entertainment events hosted by the Department of Student Affairs are held in the amphitheater. There is also a large Student Centre which offers staff and students various places to sit and eat.

Visitors’ and student parking is available while staff members must register for paid open and undercover parking annually. Those using public transport have the benefit of using the MyCiti service which has a bus stop right on the campus' doorstep..

Apart from the six main campuses in Bellville, Cape Town, Wellington, Mowbray, Athlone and Granger Bay, CPUT also has a number of satellite campuses across the city.

These include Tygerberg Hospital, Groote Schuur, the Media City building on the Foreshore and Roeland Street, which is a few minutes from the D6 Campus.

Media City houses the Architecture and Interior Design schools while Tygerberg Hospital hosts Dental Technology and Emergency Medical Care students.


The Radiography Department is the only one located at the Groote Schuur satellite campus and Roeland Street houses the Media School which includes Journalism, Photography, Public Relations and Multimedia.

Written by Kwanele Butana

Email: butanak@cput.ac.za