click here >>>

Eligible staff please register here >>>

click here >>>

Friday, 05 June 2020

Four Science Oscar finalists for CPUT

OUTSTANDING: CPUT has four 'Science Oscar' finalists OUTSTANDING: CPUT has four 'Science Oscar' finalists

Four outstanding researchers have been announced as finalists in the 2019/2020 National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF)-South32 Awards.

Known as the Science Oscars of South Africa, the awards recognise excellence and outstanding contributions to science, engineering and technology (SET) and innovation in South Africa.

The four CPUT finalists are:

  • Prof Jeanine Marnewick, Director of the Applied Microbial and Health Biotechnology Institute and Research Chair: Biotechnology, in the Communication Award category.
  • Prof Victoria Jideani, Leader: Cereals and Legumes Biopolymer Research for Food Security, in the category TW Kambule-NSTF Award: Researcher.
  • Prof Vernon S Somerset, Associate Professor: Environmental Chemistry, in the category TW Kambule-NSTF Award: Researcher.
  • Dr Mahabubur Chowdhury, Senior Lecturer: Department of Chemical Engineering, in the category TW Kambule-NSTF Award: Emerging Researcher.

The awards are the largest, most comprehensive, and sought-after national awards of their kind in the country and were also the first science awards in South Africa. The theme for the 2019/2020 NSTF-South32 Awards is Plant Health. This is in recognition of the 2020 International Year of Plant Health as declared by the United Nations. The annual awards function is expected to be held in an online format this year.

Written by Ilse Fredericks


Provides coverage for the Health and Wellness Sciences and Informatics and Design Faculties.