CPUT’s Virtual Open Day is now open! Click here to visit >>>

Tuesday, 16 April 2019

Research Excellence awarded

INNOVATIVE: Research excellence and success was celebrated during CPUT’s Research Day. INNOVATIVE: Research excellence and success was celebrated during CPUT’s Research Day.

The outstanding work of CPUT’s researchers were celebrated during an awards ceremony which formed part of the institution’s annual Research Day.

Three years of research successes (2015 to 2017), including NRF ratings, were celebrated at the event which was held in the Auditorium on the Bellville Campus.

The theme of the day was Celebrating Research Excellence and Success.

Prof Marshall Sheldon, Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research, Technology Innovation and Partnerships, said the successes would not have been possible without the hard work, dedication and commitment of staff and students and she acknowledged the support to researchers by the Research Directorate.

“If our research doesn’t translate into something that makes an impact in our society, in our government, in the problems and challenges that we face, then we have to rethink what we’re doing.”
CPUT has 43 NRF rated researchers and plans to increase this number through a range of initiatives.

Awards were made in three categories, Research Publication, Postgraduate Supervision and Industry Funding. The platinum award winners per category and year were:

  • Research Publication

2015: Prof Chux Iwu (Business & Management Sciences)
2016: Prof Liesel Hibbert (Education)
2017: Prof Bohua Sun (Engineering & the Built Environment)

  • Postgraduate Supervision

2015: Prof Sean Pather (RTI-Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships)
2016: Prof Johannes Cronje (Informatics and Design)
2017: Prof Rajendra Chetty (Education)

  • Prof Tandi Matsha (Health & Wellness Sciences) scored a hat trick in the industry funding category by winning the platinum award in 2015, 2016 and 2017.

The diverse range of research activities at the university were showcased in the Major Sports Hall.

Written by Ilse Fredericks

Email: Frederickskennediji@cput.ac.za