click here to view CPUT's Privacy Plan >>>

Thursday, 31 January 2019

CPUT alumna scoops national award

WINNER: Yolanda Koorzen won the Ian Webster Silver Medal Award. WINNER: Yolanda Koorzen won the Ian Webster Silver Medal Award.

An occupational health practitioner with a passion for the profession has done CPUT proud by scooping a national award.

Sr Yolanda Koorzen, who completed her BTech in Occupational Health Nursing at CPUT in 2017, recently received the Ian Webster Silver Medal Award.

Koorzen and another graduate from the Nursing Science Department, Sr Helene Mausling, scored the highest marks in the country for the course. Mausling received her award during the SA Society of Occupational Health Nursing Practitioners (SASOHN) national conference.

The award was presented to Koorzen at a recent function hosted by the Western Cape committee of SASOHN.
“I am very thankful for the award,” said Koorzen, who works as an occupational health practitioner at Indusmed, where she also manages a clinic.

The mother of two said she initially chose the occupation because she thought it would allow her to spend more time with her family.

“Once I started working I realised it was my passion. Before I chose occupational health I had worked in trauma and seeing what people do to each other really broke me. Occupational health restored my faith in humanity. My patients are people who work to build this country, they are good people.”

  • Each year training institutions across South Africa, who offer a post-basic degree programme in Occupational Health Nursing, are invited to submit the names of students who achieved 75% or above to SASOHN to assess eligibility for the Ian Webster Silver Medal Award.

The SASOHN National Educational Representative and the SASOHN National Executive Members then review all the submissions for the highest mark attained amongst those submitted. Recipients have to hold SASOHN Membership.

This award was donated to SASOHN by Prof Ian Webster on his retirement from the National Research Institute for Occupational Diseases in 1998 and is awarded annually.

Written by Ilse Fredericks