CPUT’s Virtual Open Day is now open! Click here to visit >>>

Monday, 19 January 2009

Orientation activities help new students get settled in at CPUT

alt

Orientation 2009, which began on 19 January, promises an action-packed programme geared towards helping first year students to familiarise themselves with their new environment.

This year, first years on all campuses will receive a ‘Passport to Student Life’ – a one-stop handbook containing information on the various services available. An orientation DVD, produced by Student Affairs, will be shown at the various campuses. A Student Affairs and Services website will also be rolled out.

Daily live presentations on topics such as Financial Aid, Student Governance and Student Development are to be held in the Bellville Campus auditorium. Stalls providing further information about items of interest to students will be available on this campus as well as in Cape Town. Orientation Officers will be on hand to give extra assistance to newcomers.

Mowbray and Wellington Campuses have organised plenty of social and sporting events to help new students break the ice with their classmates and get settled in at residences. Wellington has hired out the local town pool for a day of water games. Mowbray’s activities include a drumming session and bus tour of the coast.

In the midst of the buzz of Orientation Week, it is important that students not forget about the essentials of preparing themselves for the year ahead.

“Students must make sure they register for courses before classes begin,” said Kenneth Rinquest, Acting Head of Student Affairs, “They need to make sure that their accommodation is in order. They must also be aware of safety issues.”

Echoing the Vice-Chancellor’s comments in her Welcome address about leading a holistic student life, Rinquest advises the new students of 2009, “Play hard and work hard – keep a balance.”

By Ilana Abratt, Marketing and Communication Department

For more information about student events and services at CPUT, contact the Student Development Officers:

Bellville:
Mastura Jamodien: jamodienm@cput.ac.za
Eugene Malan: malane@cput.ac.za

Cape Town:
Anette Grobler: groblera@cput.ac.za
Nomsa Kulehile: kulehilen@cput.ac.za
Thobeka September: septembert@cput.ac.za
Derek Stocken: catsradio@cput.ac.za

Mowbray:
Sandy Johnson (acting SDO): johnsons@cput.ac.za

Wellington:
Willie Liebenberg: liebenbergw@cput.ac.za

Written by CPUT News

Email: news@cput.ac.za