To register and to download your academic transcript and letter of completion  click here >>>

For more information   Click here >>>

click here >>>

Monday, 05 May 2008

CPUT awards ten Doctorates at April 2008 Graduation ceremonies


The Cape Peninsula University of Technology recently held its April 2008 Graduation. Over 6 000 students received degrees, diplomas and certificates at 13 ceremonies held between 14 and 22 April Among the graduates were ten recipients of Doctorates and 54 recipients of Masters Degrees.

The Faculty of Business, which is the largest of the six Faculties, held ceremonies on 14, 15 and 16 April. Six Business Faculty students received Doctorates – three in the field of Public Management, two in Human Resources Management and one in Office Management and Technology. A number of Masters Degrees were also conferred by the Business Faculty. These included a Masters cum laude in Sports Management.

The final Business Faculty graduation ceremony featured an address by guest speaker Mr Andrew Merryweather. Mr Merryweather, who is Restaurant Manager at Theatre on the Bay, is currently undergoing groundbreaking therapies for paralysis at the CPUT Department of Sports Management. His words conveyed a strong message about the importance of perseverance in adverse circumstances.

The Faculty of Engineering held its ceremonies on 16 and 18 April. It conferred two Doctorates – one in Electrical Engineering and one in Mechanical Engineering. It also conferred seven Masters Degrees. Three Masters students were awarded their degrees cum laude.

Eleven Applied Sciences students were awarded Masters Degrees at the Faculty’s graduation ceremonies on 17 April. Applied Sciences also produced this year’s Vice-Chancellor’s Medallist: BTech Agriculture graduate Johannes Jakobus Spies. The Vice-Chancellor’s Medal is awarded to the CPUT student who has displayed strong leadership qualities and has obtained the best academic record over the four-year period of a BTech degree.

The Health and Wellness Faculty also held its ceremonies on 17 April. Four Masters Degrees were conferred, including two Masters cum laude. Professor Susan Bourne and Mr Sipho Mahlati were guest speakers at both the Health and Wellness and Applied Sciences ceremonies. Professor Bourne is a lecturer in Chemistry Department at the University of Cape Town while Mr Mahlati is the Executive Manager of the National Health Laboratory Services (Coastal Branch: Eastern and Western Cape).

The Informatics and Design Faculty held graduation ceremonies on 21 April. A Doctorate was awarded to Information Technology graduate Stuart Charles Warden for his research into e-commerce adoption by Small, Medium and Micro Enterprises (SMMEs). Eight Masters Degrees were conferred, including two Masters cum laude.

The Education and Social Sciences Faculty held its ceremonies on 21 and 22 April. Agnes Chigona received a Doctorate for her research into promoting the education of girls in South Africa . Nine Masters Degrees were conferred including two Masters cum laude. Education Specialist Dr Graham Bloch was one of the guest speakers.

Each of the six Faculties has awarded a Dean’s Medal to the undergraduate student in the Faculty who has achieved the highest aggregate over the duration of his or her qualification. The April 2008 Dean’s Medallists are Ashwin Mungar (Business), Fabia Zucchini Spiteri (Applied Sciences), Therese Thelander (Health and Wellness Sciences), Olaf Premion Mcpherson (Engineering), Jason Peter Pereira (Informatics and Design) and Nana Eksteen (Education and Social Sciences).

International students had a strong showing at Graduation. Of the ten Doctorates awarded, five of the recipients were international. In addition, three of the six Dean's Medals were awarded to international students. There are currently students from 67 different countries studying at CPUT.

The University congratulates all graduates.

By Ilana Abratt and Cathy Cloete, Marketing and Communication Department

Photograph: Among the recipients of Doctorates were (left to right) Maurice Oscar Dassah, Zakira Bayat and Derrick Morton-Achmad.

Written by CPUT News