Eligible staff please register here >>>

Research

Research areas, and MEng and DEng Supervisors in the department of Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

Research Areas

Staff Member

  • Computational Mechanics
  • Finite Element Analysis
  • Computational Fluid Dynamics
  • Materials and Microstructure
  • Welding Simulation
  • Thermo-Mechanical Coupling
  • Shape Memory Alloys

Prof Graeme J Oliver
OliverG@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 959 6539

  • Finite Element Solution Methods for dynamic problems
  • Vibrations

Prof Modify AE Kaunda
KaundaM@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8642

  • Smart Materials, Renewable Energy and Vibrations

Mr Olukayode Ayodele
AyodeleO@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8732

  • Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems
  • Shape memory alloys
  • Finite Element Analysis
  • Computational Flow Dynamics
  • Unmanned aerial vehicles / Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems (RPAS) / Drones
  • Coastal and Maritime Platforms
  • Aerodynamics
  • Motorsport
  • Robotics
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Mechanical Design
  • Medical Product Development

APrf Oscar Philander
PhilanderO@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8436

  • Engineering Education
  • Engineering/technology and society

Dr Rosetta Ziegler
ZieglerR@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 959 6215

  • Desalination systems
  • Materials Characterization
  • Friction Stir Welding
  • Friction Stir Processing
  • Friction Stir Engineering

Dr Velaphi Msomi
MsomiV@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8627

  • Friction Stir Welding
  • Materials Characterization
  • Friction Stir Processing

Mrs Sipokazi Mabuwa
MabuwaS@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8778

  • Robot dynamics and control
  • Aerodynamics
  • Systems Engineering and Design
  • Mechanical Design
  • Data-driven Science and Engineering

Mr Michael E Petersen
PetersenMi@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 959 6854

  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Wind Turbines
Mr Howard T. Fawkes
FawkesH@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 959 6582

  • Nanotechnology
  • Micromanipulators
  • Machine design
  • Precision Engineering
  • Monte-Carlo Methods

Dr Ali Rugbani
RugbaniA@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8437

  • Material Science
  • Nanostructured thin films
  • Pulsed laser deposited films
  • Neutron and x-ray diffraction techniques

Dr Ouassini Nemraoui
NemraouiO@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 959 6911

  • Thermodynamics
  • Renewable Energy
  • Fluid mechanics
  • Engineering Education
  • Engineering Management

Dr Tiyamike Ngonda
NgondaT@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8714

  • Modelling of biological signals (combining electroencephalography and magnetic resonance imaging techniques) using the finite element analysis approach and cognitive neuroscience.

Dr Esau Ticha Muluh
muluhe@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8364

  • Advancements of Renewable Energy (RE) technologies
  • Nanotechnology with focus on the design, fabrication, and systematic study of novel functional nano-fluids, nanomaterials and thin films, for enhanced performance of standalone (off-grid) RE systems
  • promote science and technology, knowledge transfer, by promoting pilot projects in low-income communities.

Dr Fareed Ismail
IsmailF@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8734

  • Material Science
  • Electron Backscatter Diffraction (EBSD)
  • Focussed Ion Beam (FIB) milling
  • Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (EDS)
  • Laser forming

Dr Herman Fidder
FidderH@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8716

  • Thermo-fluids
  • Heat transfer
  • Non-destructive evaluation
  • Engineering education

Mr Cletus Magoda
MagodaC@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 959 6540