CPUT’s Virtual Open Day is now open! Click here to visit >>>

Engineering & the Built Environment

Message from the Dean

It is my pleasure to welcome all of you to the Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment as your faculty of choice to further your personal development, growth, and higher education studies.

This Faculty consists of eight vibrant academic departments:

  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering and Geomatics
  • Clothing and Textile Technology
  • Construction Management and Quantity Surveying
  • Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
  • Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Maritime Studies
  • Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

We operate over two campuses; the main campus being the Bellville Campus for seven of the departments; and the Granger Bay campus for our Department of Maritime Studies. The faculty has 200 academics with 100 support staff; and just over 8000 students, of which 6% are postgraduate students.

Faculty Overview

The Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, which respond to the demands of regional, national and global industry priorities in engineering education. Through a range of multi-disciplinary research institutes and centres, the faculty aims to integrate its education and research programmes into a cohesive system, providing students with modern technology platforms for relevant and industry-responsive education, with a high degree of work-integrated learning. These platforms include the Product Life Cycle Management Competency Centre, providing state-of-the-art education in product design through to simulation and life-cycle management, the Advanced Manufacturing Technology Laboratory, and the Centre for Substation Automation and Energy Management Systems, to mention a few. Through this approach, the Faculty aims to emerge as a major driver of socio-economic change in the region.

Regional, National and international partnerships provide an essential mechanism for research and technology transfer, while at the same time developing opportunities for student international experience. The Satellite Technology Programme under the French South Africa Technology Initiative, amongst others, are high impact examples of such partnerships.

As part of a University of Technology, our mandate requires participation in community-based and SME projects, with a strong emphasis on commercialisation, providing a platform for technology transfer and spin-off technology enterprises. In this way, we provide our students and researchers with opportunities to engage at the highest level of engineering and continue to impact on the development of high-end engineering skills as a basis for industrial competitiveness.

We offer a total of 39 undergraduate and 22 postgraduate qualifications. What sets our qualifications apart from that of a traditional university is the work-integrated learning components that are scaffolded into and forms an integral part of the curriculum including workplace-based learning.

The qualifications offered in the faculty are accredited from the relevant professional bodies, and to ensure that qualifications retain the accreditation status, the faculty works closely with all five of our professional bodies, namely:

  • Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA)
  • South African Council for the Project and Construction Management Professions (SACPCMP)
  • South African Council for the Quantity Surveying Profession (SACQSP)
  • South African Geomatics Council (SAGC), and
  • South African Maritime Safety Authority (SAMSA)

The faculty strives to deliver high quality accredited academic qualifications and develop graduates that can go out into the world and respond to the local, national, and international needs that will make an impact on society.


Instragram Cput_febe

Twitter @CputFEBE