Staff

Biotechnology

Name Portfolio Contact details
Prof Lalini Reddy Head of Department Associate Professor Field: Plant and Medical Biotechnology Tel: +27 21 460 3819 Email: reddyl@cput.ac.za Office 2.10 Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Dr Vanessa Jackson Head of Programme Senior Lecturer Field: Environmental Bioremediation Tel: +27 21 460 9095 Email: jacksonva@cput.ac.za Office 7 New offices Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Dr Richard Mundembe Senior Lecturer Field: Plant Biotechnology Tel: +27 21 460 3175 Email: mundember@cput.ac.za Office 3.7 Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Prof. Muhammad Nakhooda Associate Professor Field: Plant Biotechnology and Cell Biology Tel: +27 21 460 3433 Email: nakhoodam@cput.ac.za Office 3.25A Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Dr. Vincent Okudoh Senior Lecturer (ECP) Field: Industrial Microbiology and Biogas Production Tel: +27 21 460 3507 Email: okudohv@cput.ac.za Office 3.17 Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Dr J Rheeder (Contract) Lecturer Field: Agricultural Biotechnology Tel: +27 21 460 3961 Email: rheederj@cput.ac.za Office: Room 7
Mrs Mmabatho Mobo Technician Laboratory Management and Practicals Tel: +27 21 460 3216 Email: mobom@cput.ac.za Office 3.62 Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Dr U Hutchinson Technician Laboratory Management and Practicals Tel: +27 21 460 3216 Email: hutchinsonu@cput.ac.za Office: 3.62  Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Mr N Katywa Technician Laboratory General Assistant   Tel: +27 21 460 3962 Email:  katywan@cput.ac.za Office: 3.68  Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Dr Boredi Silas Chidi Coordinator: Work based learning (WBL).
Research activities: Waste Treatments, Biocontrol, Fermentation Technology, Enzymology and Biofuels
Tel: +27 21 460 3270 Email:  chidib@cput.ac.za Office: 3.7  Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus

Consumer Science: Food & Nutrition

Name Portfolio Contact details
Mrs Enid Hinrichsen-Swart Head of Programme Lecturer Field: Tel: +27 21 460 3432
Email: hinrichsene@cput.ac.za
Office 3.25B, Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Ms Lynne April Lecturer
Field:
Tel: +27 21 460 4280
Email: aprill@cput.ac.za
Office 3.32, Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Mrs Raché Hanekom Programme Coordinator Lecturer (ECP) Field: Tel: +27 21 460 3431
Email: hanekomr@cput.ac.za
Office 3.25C, Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Mr Wesley Clarence Lecturer (ECP)
Field:
Tel: +27 21 460 9074
Email: clarencew@cput.ac.za Office 3.82A, Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Mrs Theloshni Govender Lecturer (ECP) Field: Tel: +27 21 460 9073
Email: govendert@cput.ac.za
Office 2.23, Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Mrs P Koen
(Contract)
Lecturer
Field:
Tel:  +27 21 460 3186 Email: KoenP@cput.ac.za Office: Room 2.07 Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Mrs Veldsman Lecturer
Field:
Tel: +27 21 460 3186
Email: VeldsmanZ@cput.ac.za Office Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Mrs Ania Verwey Technician Laboratory Management and Practicals Tel: +27 21 460 3425
Email: verweya@cput.ac.za Office 3.81A, Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Mrs Y Ntsodo Technician Laboratory Management and Practicals Tel: +27 21 460 3425
Email: mayy@cput.ac.za Office 3.81A, Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Ms Y Mpini Technician Laboratory Management and Practicals Tel: +27 21 460 3425
Email: mpiniy@cput.ac.za Office 3.81A, Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus

Functional Foods Research Unit

Assoc Prof Maretha Opperman Senior Lecturer/ Researcher Tel: +27 21 953 8677
Email: oppermanm@cput.ac.za
Functional Food Research Unit, Bellville Campus

Service Lecturers & part time lecturers: 

Biotechnology

Name Portfolio Contact details
Assoc Prof Merrill Wicht HOD, Chemistry Tel: +27 21 460 3168
Email: wichtm@cput.ac.za
Office: 2.31 Chemistry Building, District Six/ Bellville Campus
Michael Benjamin Lecturer Tel: +27 21 460 3674
Email: benjaminm@cput.ac.za
Office: 2.45A/ 2.29, Science Building, Bellville Campus
Assoc Prof Mangaka Matotoe Senior Lecturer Tel: +27 21 460 3163
Email: matoetoem@cput.ac.za
Office: 2.21/ 2.26 Chemistry Building, Bellville/ District Six Campus
Dr Elise de Vries Lecturer Tel: +27 21 460 3177
Email: devriese@cput.ac.za
Office: 2.36/ 2.27, Science Building, Bellville/ District Six Campus
Dr G Buzuzi Lecturer Tel: +27 21 959 6740 Email:  BuzuziG@cput.ac.za
Office:
Dr A Osibote Lecturer Tel: +27 21 460 9092 Email:  OsiboteA@cput.ac.za
Office: Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Dr H Burger Manager: Unit of Research Integrity   Tel: +27 21 959 6911 Email:  BurgerH@cput.ac.za
Office:
Ms P Mokgogang Lecturer Tel: +27 21 460 3186 Email:  MokgokongP@cput.ac.za
Office: 2.07 Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Dr D Gyure Lecturer Tel: +27 21 460 3186 Email:  GyureD@cput.ac.za
Office 2.07  Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus
Ms C Ngwenya Lecturer Tel: +27 21 460 3186 Email:  NgwenyaC@cput.ac.za
Office: 2.07 Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus

Consumer Science: Food & Nutrition

Name Portfolio Contact details
Dr Meredith Kujawa Lecturer Tel: +27 21 460 3422
Email: kujawam@cput.ac.za
Office: 2.24 Science Building, Bellville/ District Six Campus
Mrs L Philips Lecturer Tel: +27 21 460 3186 Email:  PhilipsL@cput.ac.za
Office: 2.07 Applied Sciences Building, District Six Campus