Higher Degrees Committee (HDC)

Terms of reference

Terms of reference of the Higher Degrees Committee.

Documents and forms that relate to the Higher Degrees Committee (HDC)

All supervisors and students are advised that all forms must be accompanied by a proof of registration.

No HDC 1.2 form will be processed by CPGS without ethical clearance.

All HDC 1.2 forms must be submitted within 6 months after registration.

* HDC forms are currently under revision, please contact CPGS to make sure that you have the latest forms.

Item
File
HDC 1.1: Registration of topic for dissertation/ thesis
HDC 1.1 A: Memorandum of understanding HDC 1.1A
HCD 1.2: Registration of proposal for dissertation/ thesis
HDC 1.3: Supervisor's report on student progress
HDC 1.4: Appointment of additional supervisors (internal or external)
HDC 1.5: Nomination of examiner
HDC 1.6: Conversion of MTech to DTech
HDC 1.7: Guidelines for examiners of dissertations and theses (M)
HDC 1.7: Guidelines for examiners of theses (D) HDC 1.7
HDC 1.8: Submission of final marks for MTech/ DTech dissertation/ thesis
HDC 1.9: Application for interruption of studies
HDC 1.10: Change of title of dissertation/ thesis
HDC 1.11: Release of dissertation/ thesis for examination
HDC 1.12: Nomination of new internal supervisor
HDC Instructions for completion of forms
Notes on use of 2011 HDC forms

HDC meetings and submission dates for 2015

Supervisors and students are advised to adhere to their internal deadlines.

Faculty Research Committees usually sit a month before the meeting dates below.

Meeting date
Tues, 24 Feb 2015
Submission date
Noon Mon, 09 Feb 2015
Meeting date
Tues, 10 March 2015
Submission date
Noon Mon, 23 Feb 2015
Meeting date
Tues, 12 May 2015
Submission date
Noon Mon, 27 Apr 2015
Meeting date
Tues, 24 July 2015
Submission date
Noon Mon, 13 July 2015
Meeting date
Tues, 11 Aug 2015
Submission date
Noon Mon, 27 Jul 2015
Meeting date
Thurs, 22 Oct 2015
Submission date
Noon Mon, 5 Oct 2015