/

CPUT Research Chairs (RCs)

These research focus areas are further strengthened through the appointment of research chairs.  Research chairs are funded by either the National Research Fund (NRF)/ DST, CPUT or other sources (for instance, the SETAs) and are all managed under the same framework as stipulated by the NRF.  Research chairs report to the DVC RTI through the Director, Strategic Initiatives and Partnerships (SIP).
Current research chairs are:

Source of Funding

Chair Title

Faculty

Name

Tell

Email

CPUT Biotechnology Health & Wellness Prof Jeanine Marnewick  +2721 953 8416 marnewickj@cput.ac.za
CPUT Oceans Economy Applied Science Prof Ken Findlay +2721 460 3192 findlayk@cput.ac.za
W&R SETA Wholesale & Retail Leadership Business and Management Prof Roger Mason   masonr@cput.ac.za
SARCHi/DST

Work Integrated Learning

Education Prof C Winberg (Tier 1) +2721 460 3133 winbergc@cput.ac.za
CPUT

Innovation in Society
(Service Design)

Informatics & Design and Health & Wellness Prof Thomas Thurner   thurnert@cput.ac.za
SARCHi/DST Cardiometabolic  Health & Wellness Prof Tandi Matsha-Erasmus +2721 959 6366 matshat@cput.ac.za
SARCHi/DST Teacher Education Education Prof Yusuf Sayed (Tier 1) +2721 959 5832 sayedy@cput.ac.za
  Energy    Vacant    
  Water   Vacant    
  Entrepreneurship    Vacant     
CPUT  Literacy Development  Education  Vacant