The CPUT Space Team

The CPUT Space Team

CPUT Focus Area in Space Science, Technology and Engineering

Prof Robert van Zyl Director
Prof Mellet Moll Assistant Dean for Research, Faculty of Engineering
Mr Ben Groenewald HoD: Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
Prof Shaun Pather Head of Strategic Projects


Africa Space Innovation Centre

Prof Robert van Zyl Director
Vacant Chief Engineer
Leon Steenkamp Senior Mission Engineer (Systems)
Charl Jooste Development Engineer (Embedded and Digital Systems)
Nyameko Royi Development Engineer (RF)
Stephen Cupido Missions Engineer (ZACube-2)
Etnard Louw Missions Engineer (ZACube-2)
Donovan Cogan Engineer-in-Training
Lilie Leopold Engineer-in-Training


French South African Institute of Technology

Prof Yves Blanchard Scientific Director (national)
Prof Robert van Zyl Director of CPUT node
Prof Anish Kurien Director of TUT node
Ian van Zyl Manager: Operations, Finances and Communications
Angus Brandt Academic Officer
Cynthia Kontyo Community Engagement Officer
Cindy Engel Secretary
Prof Elmarie Biermann Adjunct Professor
Prof Pierre Cilliers Adjunct Professor
Prof Robert Lehmensiek Adjunct Professor