Engineering excellence awarded

WINNERS: (L-R) Willem Conradie, Nicole Scheepers, George Fatnev (Dean’s Medal Winner), Tharwa Tape, Rowan Earp-Jones, Sumone Herholdt, Motheo Molamo, Whidaad Nazier, Jan-Hendrick Bothma, Tshepelang Mahlasane

In between autumn graduation ceremonies the Faculty of Engineering gathered its top students at the SARETEC building for the Dean’s Excellence Awards.

Parents and family members were also invited to honour the top students in each department by Prof Edward Snyders, head of the Department of Maritime Studies: “Today we celebrate academic excellence despite the myriad of challenges we faced.”

Acting Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Prof Mellet Moll, expanded as he pointed out the handful of students were symbolic of not only the engineering students but all CPUT students in that this year’s graduates had passed despite multiple years of constant disruptions because of the Fees Must Fall campaign.

Moll pointed out that the SARETEC building is the first renewable energy technology centre in the country and he expected exciting things to happen now that a series of renewable energy contracts were recently signed by independent power producers.

Moll reminded graduating students present: “Our flag is carried by you as the alumni, especially by our top achievers.”

The winners of the Dean’s Excellence Awards in the Faculty of Engineering included George Fatnev who won the Dean’s Medal. Fatnev could not make it to the Autumn Graduation as he was writing an examination, but attended the Awards ceremony to collect his medal.

He obtained distinctions in all 29 of his academic subjects with an average of 89.8 percent.

The Dean’s top student for ND and BTech combined was Sandro Cesar and the rest of the top students in the different departments are:

Reinford Mapfumo – ND Chemical Engineering;

Tshepelang  Mahlasane – BTech Chemical Engineering;

Jan-Hendrick Bothma – ND Civil Engineering;

Whidaad Nazier – BTech Civil Engineering;

Michaela Lockley – ND Clothing Management;

Larnique La Gorce – BTech Clothing Management;

Sumone Herholdt – ND Building;

Nicole Scheepers –BTech Quantity Surveying;

Willem Conradie – ND Electrical Engineering;

Ian Basson – BTech Electrical Engineering

Mogamat Junaid Samaai – ND Industrial Engineering

Tharwa Tape – BTech Quality

Vito Marco Rickerts – ND Maritime Studies

Vickus Coetzee – ND Maritime Studies

Motheo Molamo – ND Mechanical Engineering

Rowan Earp-Jones – BTech Mechanical Engineering

Written by Theresa Smith

Leave a Comment