New Engineering Qualifications

1. What is the purpose of introducing new qualifications?

The new qualifications are introduced to align with the new Higher Education qualification sub-Framework (HEQSF) as Gazetted by the South African Department of Education on 2 August 2013. This is a requirement placed on all Higher Education institutions in the attempt to keep the curriculum relevant.

The new qualifications ensure that the curriculum offered at CPUT can be directly compared to that of other institutions; not only nationally, but also internationally through the benchmarking process that took place during the development of these new qualifications.

Current Qualification
Will be replaced with
Students currently enrolled
Admission
National Diploma
Diploma
Pipeline students will be given a certain period to complete the ND, after which they will be converted to the new Diploma.
From school, TVETs and other higher education institutions
BTech
Advanced Diploma
Pipeline students will be given a certain period to complete the BTech, after which they will be converted to the new Advanced Diploma.
Current ND graduates will be given admission to the new Advanced Diploma
MTech
Masters
Pipeline MTech student will be converted to the new Masters where available and applicable.
Current BTech graduates will be admitted to the new Masters qualifications (with possible additional modules as determined by the department)
DTech
Doctoral
Pipeline DTech students will be converted to the new Doctoral qualification where available and applicable
Current MTech graduates will be admitted to the new Doctoral qualifications

2. When do the new qualifications begin?

Qualifications will be added as they are approved. Below are letters giving more information about the phasing-out of the National Diplomas, and phasing-in of the new Diplomas for each department, giving valuable information about how the phase-out will be handled.

2018
Diplomas Masters Doctors
Diploma in Chemical Engineering -- --
Diploma in Civil Engineering -- --
Diploma in Construction
(replacing ND: Building)
-- --
Diploma in Industrial Engineering -- --
Diploma in Geomatics
(replacing Surveying and Cartography)
-- --
Diploma in Mechanical Engineering -- --
Diploma in Mechanical Engineering in Mechatronics -- --

2017

Diplomas
Masters
Doctors
Diploma in Clothing and Textile Technology
-- Master of Construction
--
Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering
Doctor of Engineering in Civil Engineering
--
Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering
Doctor of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering
--
Master of Engineering in Quality
--

2016

Diplomas
Masters
Doctors
--
Master of Engineering in Chemical Engineering
Doctor of Engineering in Chemical Engineering
--
Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering
Doctor of Engineering in Electrical Engineering


3. What do the new qualifications mean to you?

If you are:
- an undergraduate student who want to apply to CPUT.
New applicants will have the same opportunity to apply to CPUT and will be subject to an admission and selection process to assess if they meet the minimum requirements to be admitted to their chosen field of study.
- a currently enrolled student at CPUT that has not yet completed your qualification.
Current undergraduate students will be allowed to complete their current ND and BTech qualifications for a certain period, after which, they will be articulated onto to the new qualifications. Current MTech and DTech students will be moved to the new HEQSF aligned postgraduate qualifications.
- a student who is currently on a study break, or a returning student who has not yet completed their qualification.
Students who are returning to complete their qualification will be taken back on the current qualification if it still offered at the time of their return. If the qualification has been phased out, they will be articulated into the new qualification. This is due to the fact that not all qualifications will be introduced at the same time.
For example; the ND, BTech, some MTech and DTech programmes will still exist in 2016 and some in 2017.
- a currently enrolled student at CPUT and are completing the programme at the end of 2015.
Engineering students who are completing their current study at the end of 2015 (BTech and MTech) will be able to apply for the next level qualification, namely the MEng or the DEng if the planned phased in date is 2016.

4. What are the minimum requirements for acceptance in the new qualifications?

Minimum requirements per qualification:
Master of Engineering
Old NQF: A BTech in a cognitive/relevant field with a minimum aggregate of 60%. Candidates will be required to complete a module in Research Methodology. Additional modules could be prescribed as determined by the department.
New HEQSF: A level 8 qualification with a minimum aggregate of 60% for the:
Postgraduate Diploma; Bachelor of Engineering Technology (Honours) or Professional Bachelor in a cognitive/related field
Doctor of Engineering
Old NQF: An MTech (or equivalent qualification) in a cognitive/related field.
New HEQSF: A level 9 Masters qualification in cognitive/related field

5. What does the new Higher Education Qualification Structure Framework (HEQSF) look like?

Qualification
NEW HEQSF exit level
OLD NQF exit level
Level 6
Level 6 (National Diploma)
Advanced Diploma
Level 7
Level 7 (BTech)
Post Graduate Diploma/Honours
Level 8
--
Masters
Level 9
Level 8 (MTech)
Doctoral
Level 10
Level 9 (DTech)

6. Contact information for enquiries

Undergraduate qualifications: contact details

DEPARTMENT DISCIPLINE CONTACT PERSONS EMAIL ADDRESSES
Civil Engineering & Surveying Civil Engineering Mr Crispen Mutsvangwa MutsvangwaC@cput.ac.za
Geomatics (replacing Surveying and Cartography) Mr Jacobus Raubenheimer RaubenheimerJ@cput.ac.za
Chemical Engineering Chemical Engineering Ms Ashleen Marshall MarshallA@cput.ac.za
Chemical Engineering Ms Elizma Alberts VanWykE@cput.ac.za
Chemical Engineering Mr Tafi Madzimbamuto MadzimbamutoT@cput.ac.za
Clothing & Textile Technology Clothing and Textile Technology Dr Elspa Hovgaard HovgaardE@cput.ac.za
Construction Management and Quantity Surveying Construction (replacing Building) Ms Nonyaniso Didiza DidizaN@cput.ac.za
Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering Electrical Engineering and Computer Systems Mr Dave Callaghan CallaghanD@cput.ac.za
Electrical Engineering and Computer Systems Mr Ben Groenewald GroenewaldB@cput.ac.za
Industrial & Systems Engineering Industrial Engineering Mr Bharet Morar MorarB@cput.ac.za
Quality Ms Lucretia Valentine ValentineL@cput.ac.za
Maritime Studies Maritime Studies Prof Edward Snyders SnydersE@cput.ac.za
Mechanical Engineering (Marine Engineering) Prof Edward Snyders SnydersE@cput.ac.za
Mechanical Engineering & Mechatronics Mechanical Engineering Dr Ali Rugbani RugbaniA@cput.ac.za
Mechanical Engineering Mr Cletus Magoda MagodaC@cput.ac.za
Mechanical Engineering in Mechatronics Mr Olukayode Ayodele AyodeleO@cput.ac.za


Postgraduate qualifications: contact details

Department Contact person Phone Email
Construction Management and Quantity Surveying Ms C Daniels 021 959 6527 DanielsCh@cput.ac.za
Chemical Engineering See supervisor contact details for each research area on the Chemical Engineering Research page
Civil Engineering and Surveying Mr S Makaluza - Research Administrator +27 21 460 3055 MakaluzaS@cput.ac.za
Ms H Van Zyl - Admin +27 21 959 6650
+27 21 959 6660 (Fax)
vanzylh@cput.ac.za
Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering Dr M Adonis +27 21 959 6488 AdonisM@cput.ac.za
Ms D de Jongh - Admin +27 21 959 6246 deJonghD@cput.ac.za
Industrial and Systems Engineering Mrs. S Ngonda +27 21 959 6600
+27 21 959 6073 (Fax)
NgondaS@cput.ac.za
Mechanical Engineering Prof GJ Oliver +27 21 959 6539 / 6621
+27 21 959 6104 (Fax)
OliverG@cput.ac.za
Aprf O Philander
Ms C Rensburg - Personal Assistant
+21 953 8436
+21 953 8435
PhilanderO@cput.ac.za
RensburgC@cput.ac.za