Report any gender-based violence related incidents to the following numbers | 021 959 6550 | 021 959 6301 | 060 980 0286

Graduation: Faculties of Business and Management Sciences Official start: December 12 @ 9:00 am. Duration: 2h 30m

Research

Research areas, and MEng and DEng Supervisors in the department of Mechanical Engineering

Research Areas

Staff Member

  • Computational Mechanics
  • Finite Element Analysis
  • Computational Fluid Dynamics
  • Materials and Microstructure
  • Welding Simulation
  • Thermo-Mechanical Coupling
  • Shape Memory Alloys

Prof Graeme J Oliver
OliverG@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 959 6539

  • Finite Element Solution Methods for dynamic problems
  • Vibrations

Prof Modify AE Kaunda
KaundaM@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8642

  • Non-destructive testing
  • Shearography
  • Thermography
  • Mechanical/Thermal Testing

Prof Jason Gryzagoridis
GryzagoridisJ@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8785

  • Computational Mechanics
  • Fluids
  • Shell Structures

Prof Bohua Sun
SunB@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 959 6160

  • Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems
  • Shape memory alloys
  • Finite Element Analysis
  • Unmanned aerial vehicles
  • Aerodynamics, mechanical design

APrf Oscar Philander
PhilanderO@cput.ac.za
Ph: 021 953 8436

  • Thermal Problems
  • Shape Memory Alloys
  • Friction Stir Welding

Dr Velaphi Msomi
Ph: 021 953 8627
MsomiV@cput.ac.za

  • Solar Energy
  • Renewable Energy

Mr Kant E. Kanyarusoke
Ph: 021 953 8741
KanyarusokeK@cput.ac.za

  • Systems engineering approach to design
  • Mechanical Design
  • Aerodynamics

Mr Michael E. Petersen
Ph: 021 959 6854
PetersenMi@cput.ac.za

  • Energy
  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Wind Turbines

Mr Howard T. Fawkes
Ph: 0219596582
FawkesH@cput.ac.za