Africa Day Celebrations Official start: May 26 @ 3:00 pm. Duration: 4h

Management Committee

The Management Committee is constituted by the Vice-Chancellor to executive such functions as Council and Senate may delegate to him from time to time. The Management Committee is comprised of the Executive Management members, Deans of Faculties and Chief Directors, collectively referred to as senior management in the Statute. The composition ensures that:

  • partnership between academic and professional/support staff is properly maintained to achieve institutional cohesion;
  • there is consultative decision-making process with senior management across all levels; and
  • there is timely provision of relevant information for decision-making.

Role and responsibilities

The Management Committee is responsible for the execution of the Strategic Plan and implementation of the Council decisions and institutional policies.  The Management Committee is the body responsible for decision-making in respect of staffing matters, procedures that support Council approved policies, changes and amendments to organisational structure, matters outside the delegated authority of line managers as well as the evaluation of performance management reports.

Management Committee members (including the Executive Management members)

img deans fatoki small

Dean of Applied Sciences:
Prof Olalekan Fatoki

Contact details
Tel: +27 21 460 3803


Dean of Business and Management Sciences
Mr Willem Lotter (acting)

Contact details
Tel: +27 21 460 3146

Dean of Education
and Social Sciences:

Prof Thobeka Mda

Contact details
Tel: +27 21 680 1502


Dean of Engineering:
Ass Prof Marshall Sheldon (acting)

Contact details
Tel: +27 21 959 6757

Dean of Health and
Wellness Sciences:

Prof Dhiro Gihwala

Contact details
Tel: +27 21 959 6218

Dean of Informatics
and Design:

Prof Johannes Cronjè

Contact details
Tel: +27 21 469 1018