Institutional Forum

The Institutional Forum (IF) is a statutory body, established in terms of the Higher Education Act of 1997 and Section 40 of the CPUT Statute. The IF is elected from a broad range of stakeholders, and includes representatives from inter alia Senate, Executive Management, external councillors, academic and non-academic staff, unions and students.

Roles and responsibilities

The function of the IF is to deliberate and advise Council on a wide range of issues affecting the institution. The Higher Education Act specifically notes as part of the IF’s brief:

  • national policy
  • race and gender equity policies
  • selection of candidates for senior management positions
  • codes of conduct and procedures for dispute resolution
  • fostering an institutional culture of respect and tolerance
  • the implementation of the Higher Education Act and national policy on higher education
  • other functions as may be delegated or assigned to it by council

Institutional Forum members

Two members of Council
Mr Benson Ngqentsu
Mr Thato Malaolwa
Organiser: National Union of Mine Workers
Customs Auditor: SARS
Two members of Management
Professor Thobeka Mda
Dr Octavia Mkhabela
Dean: Faculty of Education
Executive Director: Office of the Vice-Chancellor
Two Senate members
Ms Liiza Gie
Ms Mandisa Silo
HOD: Human Resources Management
HOD: Sports, Events & Tourism Hospitality
Two members of academic staff
Two members of non-academic staff
Mr Xolani Vanda
Lab Technician: Journalism
Two members from each recognised labour union
Mr Hendrik Theys (NTEU)
Ms Marian Pike (NTEU)
Mr Johnny Basson (CPUEU)
Adv Noleen Leach (CPUEU)
Mr Sello Nkwana   (NEHAWU)
 Mr Siyabulela Thwalani (NEHAWU)
Lecturer: GET Education
Senior Lecturer: Public Relations
Residence Business Manager
Lecturer: Unit for Applied Law
Senior Computer Technician, Electrical Engineering
Residence Co-ordinator
Two members of the Student Representative Council (SRC)
Mr Phathidwe Mncamase
Ms Mbaliyezwe Madikizela
President: CSRC
General Secretary: CSRC
One member of the Student Services Council
One member appointed by the Convocation
Mr Mandla Ntlanganiso

Institutional Forum Code of Conduct

The IF at CPUT grew out of the old Transformation Forums. While it is now a statutory body, it still retains much of its earlier culture and traditions. The IF

  • provides a Forum to a very wide range of stakeholders — probably more so than any other single entity in the University,
  • strives to provide a non-threatening environment where all members of the CPUT community and its stakeholders can freely express their opinions,
  • values the opinions of all members, and places a premium on honest and open contributions,
  • has a tradition of open and robust debate,
  • operates in a spirit of collegial respect for the viewpoints of other members, and
  • values professionalism.

The IF has always strived for consensus rather than winner-takes-all democracy in formulating its position and consequent advice to Council. It is very rare for votes to be taken at IF meetings.

In order to promote an environment wherein debate can be robust yet respectful and considerate yet productive, the IF will:

  • make its minutes (once ratified) available to anybody who wishes to see them,
  • treat the detail of discussions as privileged and count on members to respect that,
  • welcome visitors and observers to its meetings (excepting the rare meetings that need to be confidential for good reason), and
  • count on members to arrive at meetings prepared and — having previously consulted with their constituencies and stakeholders — with required mandates.


Mr Benjamin Turner
Telephone: +27 21 864 5203

George Mvalo
Telephone: 021 460-3797

Last updated: 17 November 2014